Weekly Winner:  Groovin’ on a Green Gazpacho

It’s been hot here in Chicago. I mean stupid-hot!  The kind of heat where you just don’t want to move, let alone turn on anything in the house that will produce heat. I didn’t want to cook but honestly couldn’t imagine eating another salad. I wanted something cold and different. Lucky for me I had a new gazpacho recipe to try out.

I’m usually somewhat ambivalent towards gazpacho simply because most are tomato-based and a bit spicy which to me is like eating a bowl of salsa.The gazpachos I tend to like are a bit different and creamier in texture. Which is why I adored this Green Gazpacho recipe from Food Network Magazine.

The sweetness from the green grapes along with the creaminess from the avocado (I went ahead and used a whole rather than a half) makes this the perfect warm weather soup.

Green Gazpacho

Serves 4

Ingredients:

2 cups seedless green grapes

3 scallions, roughly chopped

1-1/2 English cucumbers, peeled and cut into chunks

1 clove garlic

1 small bunch fresh parsley (leaves only)

1/2 avocado (cut into chunks) – I used the whole thing

1/3 cup olive oil

3 Tbsp white wine vinegar

Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

1/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted

Procedure:

Pulse the grapes, scallions, cucumbers, garlic, parsley and avocado in a food processor until combined. Add the olive oil and white wine vinegar and pulse again until blended. Add 1/4 cup ice water and pulse again. Add more water if it is not at your desired consistency.

Season the gazpacho with 1 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Refrigerate until chilled, about 1 hour. Serve topped with the toasted almonds.

Leave a Reply

