Weekly Winner:  Cheating Condoned when it’s this Creamy, Cheesy, and Corny.

This isn’t really even “cooking”.  Seriously, if you can move a spoon around in a circular motion in a pan and boil some water, you can make this dish.  If I’m being honest, the only preparation involved is tearing basil at the end.  That’s it.  That is all I “created” when making Gnocchi, Sweet Corn, and Arugula in Garlic-Herb Cream Sauce.  Everything else was, essentially already prepared.  I just put it together.  And I’m super glad I did.

I’m home alone this week and I’ve got a fairly light cooking work load as well, so I didn’t feel like spending a lot of time in the kitchen making dinner just for me.  But I wanted something luxurious and of course, delicious.  That is exactly what this dish is.  It literally came together in under 15 minutes.  It seemed like it took longer for the water to come to a boil than it did to finish the dish once the pot did boil!

So no, I don’t feel the least bit guilty naming this the best thing I made this week when, in essence, I didn’t really make it as much as assembled it. It just goes to show that sometimes simple is better and easy is not bad.  It can be amazing.  This easy, amazing cheat of a meal comes from Better Homes & Gardens.  You have absolutely no excuse not to make this dish.

Gnocchi, Sweet Corn, and Arugula in Garlic-Herb Cream Sauce

Serves 6

Ingredients

1 17.5-oz package of shelf-stable potato gnocchi

2 cups frozen whole kernel corn (I love Trader Joe’s Frozen Roasted Corn)

1 tsp zest and 1 Tbsp juice from one lemon

3/4 cup half-and-half or light cream

1 5.2-oz package semi soft cheese with garlic and fine herbs (Boursin)

1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

3 cups baby arugula

Snipped fresh basil

Preparation:

  1. In a 4-5 quart Dutch oven cook gnocchi according to package directions, adding corn the last 2-3 minutes of cooking. Drain gnocchi and corn reserving 1/2 cup of the water.  Do not rinse gnocchi.  Return gnocchi and corn to pan
  2. For cream sauce: In a medium saucepan, add lemon juice, zest, half-and-half, cheese, and pepper. Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently for 10 minutes.  Stir in reserved gnocchi cooking water.
  3. Pour sauce over gnocchi and corn; heat through.  Stir in arugula and sprinkle with basil.
Leave a Reply

