Weekly Winner:  This Dish is Like “Buttah” — Indian Butter Chicken that is.

I’ve made Butter Chicken before.  I dearly love Butter Chicken. Whenever I go to an Indian restaurant, I am hard-pressed to not order Butter Chicken.  I’ve even written about the dish before in this very blog (Murgh Makhanwala) However, as of this week, I have destroyed that recipe and am replacing it with this one – Slow Cooker Indian Butter Chicken.  Not only is this one tastier, it’s a whole lot easier.  It’s one of those miraculous slow cooker recipes that you literally dump everything in, set the timer, and walk away.  You don’t even need to make rice as it has potatoes right in the dish!  Truly a one-pot-wonder!  If you are lucky enough to have a husband that makes spectacular naan, then even better!!  If not, I’m sure store-bought naan would do nicely.  I wouldn’t know — I have one of those aforementioned husbands.

This new and improved recipe comes from Food Network Magazine.  It couldn’t be simpler or yummier. No overnight marinating, no cutting up chickens, just chop, drop, stir and eat.  Obviously, I left out any semblance of cilantro (except for my husband’s dish and the photo-op, which I begrudgingly sprinkled some on). I have no idea if it’s as authentic as my previous post but truth is, I don’t care.  I like it and it’s simple enough that I can and will make it on a regular basis.

Slow Cooker Indian Butter Chicken

Serves 4.

Ingredients:

3 pieces naan bread

1 red onion, halved and thinly sliced

1 pound baby red-skinned potatoes, halved or quartered if large

1 Fresno chile or red jalapeno pepper, halved lengthwise, seeded and sliced

1 small bunch cilantro, leaves and tender stems separated, chopped

1 1/2 pounds skinless, boneless chicken thighs (about 6)

1 tablespoon garam masala

Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1 cinnamon stick

1 15 -ounce can tomato sauce

1/2 cup heavy cream

Kosher salt

Procedure:

Crumble 1/2 piece naan into coarse crumbs; transfer to a 6-quart slow cooker. Add the red onion, potatoes, chile and cilantro stems. Arrange the chicken thighs in a single layer over the vegetables and sprinkle with the garam masala, 3/4 teaspoon salt and a few grinds of pepper. Dot with the butter and add the cinnamon stick. Pour the tomato sauce over the top. Cover and cook on low, 7 hours.

Uncover and switch to the warm setting or turn off. Gently stir in the heavy cream, breaking the chicken into large chunks; let stand 10 minutes. Stir in the cilantro leaves and season with salt. Serve with the remaining naan.

Leave a Reply

