Weekly Winner:  Best. Meatloaf. Ever.

I may have mentioned that when I was younger I was never a big meatloaf fan.  Didn’t mind it, but never sought it out.  I’d almost always would rather have a hamburger or something with meatballs.  A big loaf of meat just wasn’t my thing.  But apparently, with age comes wisdom.  I find that now I have joined the “pro-meatloaf” team.  I’m sure part of the reason is that I have been asked by various clients to make meatloaves for them so I’m always anxious to try out a new recipe.

Which is exactly what happened last night.  I found this recipe for Gochujang Glazed Meatloaf and thought it sounded tasty. The few things I have made using gochujang (Korean Chili Paste) I have really liked.  The problem was, to properly test the recipe I felt like I should make the whole thing.  That’s a lot of meatloaf for two people and I didn’t really want a bunch of leftovers.  That’s when it’s nice to have friends you can call up and say “hey, feel like being my guinea pigs for the evening?”.  I know they are big fans of meatloaf and always like spice, so this seemed like a perfect fit.

Not only was it a hit, it was without a doubt, the best meatloaf I’ve made to date.  Truly.  I had every intention of taking a picture of it as it came out of the oven or after it was sliced but it just disappeared! So I must rely on the magazine’s picture (which is far more artistic than mine would have been) but trust me when I say, mine looked exactly like this (before it was devoured).

The recipe for Gochujang Glazed Meatloaf comes from Good Housekeeping.  If you are leery of heat, don’t worry, this isn’t a super hot recipe.  It’s just enough of a kick to make it far more interesting than your typical ketchup-brown sugar glaze.  I must admit I was a bit skeptical about only using 6 saltine crackers as a binder for two pounds of meat, but it worked.  Beautifully.

Gochujang Glazed Meatloaf

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground beef

1 lb. ground pork

1 small onion, grated

6 saltines, finely crushed

1/2 c. packed fresh mint, chopped

5 tbsp. gochujang, divided

1 large egg

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 c. ketchup

Directions

Mix beef, pork, onion, saltines, mint, 3 tablespoons gochujang, egg, and salt.

Mold into loaf on foil-lined baking sheet. Bake in 425F degree oven for 25 minutes.

Stir together ketchup and remaining gochujang; brush over meatloaf. Bake 30 minutes or until cooked through (160 degrees F).


Leave a Reply

