Weekly Winner:  There Will Be No More Coleslaw in this House

Its true.  I don’t see myself ever making your standard, everyday coleslaw again.  Not that I have anything against coleslaw, but after trying this carrot slaw I will never consider coleslaw an acceptable side dish.  This Turmeric-Curried Golden Carrot Slaw is worlds better in so many ways.  Healthier, more unique, more colorful (yes, that matters) and most importantly, it is far more interesting. It made the perfect accompaniment to some simple roasted salmon filets.

The recipe was actually sent to me by a client asking me to make it for her.  After tasting it the first time, I knew It would become a staple for me.  The original recipe comes from the blog HappyHealthyLife.com.

It is, in a word, “craveable”. Sweet, spicy, crunchy, creamy – it has it all.  The only change I made this time was to replace the sunflower seeds with roasted pistachios.  I liked it even better.

The only time I can see me reverting back to coleslaw is when I make pulled pork sandwiches — although, now that I think about it, this carrot slaw might just work on that as well!

Turmeric-Curried Golden Carrot Slaw

Ingredients:

1-1/2 cups shredded carrots

1-1/2 Tbsp maple syrup

2-3 Tbsp tahini

1/2 cup raisins

1 tsp curry powder

1 tsp turmeric powder

2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

Pinch of salt and pepper

1/4 cup sunflower seeds or roasted pistachios

Instructions:

Add all ingredients to a large mixing bowl.

Toss salad for 2-3 minutes to completely infuse carrots with all the spices and flavorings.

Leave a Reply

