Weekly Winner: Pumpkin Pockets of Perfection

IMG_1576 As a rule, I do not make pasta. There are way too many perfectly wonderful, hand-crafted pastas out there for me to bother. I think it all goes back to my panic towards pastry or really dough of any kind. I leave that to the hubby. He’s good at it, so why should I struggle with it?? Also, there are loads of good store-bought versions of pie crusts and biscuits and puff pastry so I see no need to stress myself out doing it myself. My perfectionist tendencies only carry so far. I know when to give in — and with pasta, I almost always give in.

So what was I doing making homemade pumpkin ravioli last night? Well, first of all I had the evening to myself. I had no clients to cook for and nothing to prep nor did I have any leftovers to reheat. The entire evening and a totally clean kitchen lay ahead of me. What to do? What to do?

I saved this recipe for Pumpkin Ravioli with Browned Butter back before Thanksgiving. I got the recipe from The Pioneer Woman and I wanted to give it a try. Mainly because it promised fabulously tasty ravioli without making pasta dough. The trick? Wonton Wrappers! Seriously, where have these been all my life? They are perfect squares just waiting to be filled with some sort of wonderful-ness and the options are endless! Best part? They really stay together if sealed properly. I did not have one single blow out and I didn’t even bother to trim them with a cutter.

I have a feeling we’ll be having a lot more ravioli dishes around here.

Pumpkin Ravioli with Browned Butter
Makes 18 ravioli

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp butter
2 clove garlic, minced
1 15oz can pumpkin puree
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp chili powder
1/4 cup pine nuts
1 stick butter
36 whole wonton wrappers
1 whole egg, beaten
black pepper to taste
fresh Parmesan
fresh sage, sliced very thin

Procedure:
Melt 2 Tbsp butter with the garlic in a skillet over medium heat and cook for a couple of minutes to release the garlic flavor. Add the pumpkin puree, salt and chili powder. Stir and cook over medium heat for a few minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and let cool slightly.

Toast pine nuts in a small skillet over medium-low heat, tossing occasionally, until golden. Remove from heat and pour the pine nuts onto a small plate.

In the same small skillet, brown the butter by melting it over medium-high heat, then letting it cook and bubble for an additional minute or so until the foam is golden brown. Remove from heat and set aside.

Assemble the ravioli: Lay out 18 wonton wrappers and put 1/2 tsp of the pumpkin mixture in the center. Beat the egg with 1 Tbsp water. Using your finger, smear the egg mixture all over the surface of the wrappers surrounding the pumpkin. Place a clean wrapper on top, matching up the edges. Press the edges together and use your fingers to press out any air pockets that form. Repeat with the res of the wrappers.

This is where if you want to, you can cut them with a circular or square cutter or ravioli trimmer.

Bring a pot of water to a boil. Drop the ravioli three at a time into the water and cook for 2 minutes. Remove with a slotted spatula and put the ravioli on a plate. Continue cooking the ravioli in batches of threes.

To serve: spoon a little browned butter on each plate. Place desired amount of ravioli on each plate, then spoon a little more browned butter over the top. Sprinkle on the pine nuts, and a little black pepper and then the shaved parmesan. Finally, top with slivered sage and serve.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ema Jones
    Feb 04, 2015 @ 02:06:27

    I’m adding some garlic salt instead of garlic cloves, hope it’s
    fine, as I don’t wanna use garlic here directly…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

