Weekly Winner: Kicking it Old School, Take 2 – Bringin’ Back the Bubbas

IMG_0626.JPG I spend an inordinate amount of my time perusing new recipes  I love researching the best new techniques, discovering new (to me) ingredients and developing tastes and flavors that are not necessarily familiar to me. But then again, every once in a while you crave something Old School, something comforting and incredibly familiar.

Enter: Chicken in a Biscuit Bubbas. I realize this might shock you, however this is not the official name of the dish. The formal name is Savory Crescent Chicken Squares, but throughout my entire marriage (we’re talking over a quarter of a century) this has been lovingly referred to as Chicken in a Biscuit Bubbas.

Let me start at the beginning. For Christmas the year before I was married, my soon-to-be mother-in-law presented me with a cookbook: Women of the Chapel Cookbook from Norton Air Force Base. At the time, I hardly cooked. I was known to make a few special occasion dishes but the everyday cooking was left to others. After I was married, that was my husband. I find it funny that written in the front cover of the cookbook is the following inscription: “May you spend many happy hours browsing through this book and few in the kitchen cooking! Love, Mom S.” If she only knew! If any of us only knew! But I digress – Back to said Bubbas.

I’m not sure when I actually started making these, but I know it was very soon after I was married. It was kind of a special occasion dish. If company was coming over, I might make these. That makes me laugh. Yes, I still think they are incredibly tasty, but I definitely do not consider them “company worthy” They are however, brilliantly comforting and nostalgic.

I don’t think I’ve made this dish in close to five years. That is until this past Sunday for lunch. It was a great “Blast from the Past”. Perhaps I need to keep the “Women of the Chapel” nearby and see what other gems I might find!

Savory Crescent Chicken Squares, aka Chicken in a Biscuit Bubbas
serves 4

Ingredients:
3 oz softened cream cheese
3 Tbsp butter, melted
2 cups chicken, diced
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
2 Tbsp milk
1 Tbsp chives or onions, chopped
1 Tbsp pimento, chopped
1 8 oz pkg Pillsbury Crescent Rolls
Seasoned croutons, crushed

Procedure:
Blend cream cheese with 2 Tbsp melted butter until smooth. Add remaining ingredients except 1 Tbsp butter, rolls, and croutons. Mix well.

Separate rolls into 4 rectangles and seal perforations. Spoon about 1/2 cup mixture into center of each and pull four corners of dough to center and seal. Brush tops with 1 remaining Tbsp melted butter. Sprinkle crushed seasoned croutons over top. Bake on an ungreased cookie sheet for 20 to 25 minutes at 350 degrees, or until golden brown.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Phil
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 20:32:17

    Damn that sounds like the cold-weather comfort food that I need!

    Reply

    • PR Donna
      Nov 18, 2014 @ 20:45:42

      Phil, according to my sources, there is a 3 degree windchill here in Chicago and a 65 degree windchill in San Diego. What in the heck do you need cold weather comfort food for???

      Reply

Leave a Reply

