Weekly Winner: Reconsidering My Stand on Beef Stew

I used to think that I just didn’t like beef stew. Perhaps it is that I’ve not tried hard enough to find the right recipe. After all, I love stew…. I love beef…. I love most vegetables….. therefore shouldn’t I love beef stew? Mind you they are never bad, but they are never spectacular, or even interesting for that matter. Since I’ve started this blog, I’ve only spotlighted one beef stew recipe (see: https://donnasquickqi.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/weekly-winner-a-spectacular-stew) which I thought was the exception to the rule. By that I mean a truly memorable beef stew.

IMG_1456.JPG

Well now I have two recipes. And with that, perhaps I need to change how I view beef stews. They don’t have to be bland and boring. Not if you know what to look for. Case in point: Slow-Cooker Caribbean Beef Stew from The Food Network Magazine. It was truly luscious, hearty and aromatic. But, unlike many beef stews (here I go again, bashing something I obviously am starting to embrace) it was incredibly fresh-tasting and bright.

Slow-Cooker Caribbean Beef Stew
serves 4

Ingredients
1/2 pounds cubed beef stew meat
1 Tbsp all-purpose flour
2 tsp curry powder
1/2 tsp ground allspice
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
2 large sweet potatoes (about 1 1/2 pounds), peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
1 (13-14oz) can coconut milk
2 Tbsp finely chopped peeled ginger
Juice of 1 lime, plus wedges for serving
4 scallions, sliced
2 cups cooked white rice, for serving

Procedure
1. Toss the beef with the flour, curry powder, allspice, 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper in a medium bowl; transfer the beef to a 6-quart slow cooker. Add the sweet potatoes and bell pepper to the bowl and toss to coat with any remaining flour mixture. Spread over the beef. Whisk the coconut milk and ginger in a bowl until combined; pour over the vegetables.

2. Cover the slow cooker and cook on low, 7 hours. Uncover, stir well and let stand 10 minutes. Skim off any fat from the top. Stir in the lime juice and season with salt. Serve over rice; top with scallions and serve with lime wedges.

 

Leave a Reply

