Weekly Winner: With A Little Help From My Friend

IMG_0731  I am not a breakfast person.  As I’m sure you’ve noticed, I have never included a single recipe for breakfast in here.  It’s not that I don’t eat breakfast, it’s just that I’m kind of a “grab and go” breakfast eater.  I realize that many people out there LOVE breakfast, either going out for it or making an extravagant weekend breakfast at home.  One such person is my BFF Ellen who was planning a visit this past weekend.

Ellen does not cook.  She does, however, greatly appreciate those who do.  So when we were planning what to do for her upcoming visit, I asked what her favorite breakfast was.  “Waffles and bacon,” she said.  Well see, that’s a problem.  Not being a “breakfast person” means I don’t own a waffle iron.  So I countered with “Bacon is never a problem in this house, but how about pancakes?”  Turns out, she also loves pancakes.  Another problem:  I’ve never in my life made pancakes … before this weekend.

Armed with a new culinary challenge, I knew plain, simple pancakes would not suffice.  No, if I was going to enter the breakfast world with pancakes…these were going to be special.  Enter this week’s Weekly Winner, Peanut Butter Pancakes with Jelly/Maple Syrup. 

So, on Saturday, into the kitchen we go to whip up this masterpiece.  For some one who never cooks, apparently she does have some experience in the pancake arena.  When the batter was mixed up, I was all set to add more milk to thin it out a bit.  “Oh no,” says Ellen “it looks perfect”.  And she was right. It was.

The pancake recipe comes from The Food Network.  The Jelly/Maple syrup was my creation.

Peanut Butter Pancakes

Makes about 12 pancakes

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 Tbsp sugar

1 egg

1 cup plus 2 Tbsp milk (plus extra if needed to thin)

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter, melted

2 Tbsp oil

4 Tbsp butter

Method:

Preheat a griddle or frying pan.  In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.  Slowly mix in egg, milk, peanut butter and oil until combined.  Add a little extra mil if batter feels too thick.  Let mixture sit 5 minutes.  Melt 1 tablespoon butter on griddle and move around to coat entire griddle.  Pour about 1/4 cup of batter per pancake on griddle to form 5-inch pancakes.  The batter spreads as it cooks.  Fill griddle without crowding pancakes.  Flip when air pockets start to pop on the top.  Repeat with remaining butter and batter.

Jelly/Maple Syrup

In a small saucepan, combine one small jar of your favorite jelly with about 1/4 cup maple syrup.  Warm and whisk together.

Leave a Reply

