Weekly Winner: The Best (and most unlikely) Steak Dinner

skirt steakI love steak.  Any steak.  But I have come to particularly love the skirt steak.  It’s quick, works well in lots of different preparations, and is full of wonderful, meaty, steaky flavor.

Fruit, on the other hand, I’m not a huge fan of.  It’s not that I dislike the flavor of fruit and I will occasionally add some to a salad, but in general I find it more trouble than it is worth.

I also have a leeriness of hot peppers.  While I do love Southwestern, Thai and Indian food, I always tend to steer clear of the really fiery chiles.  Anything hotter than a serrano and I leave it out or substitute a milder one.  I am a firm believer than food shouldn’t hurt.

So, now that you know all my culinary hangups and paranoia, what would possess me to clip a recipe for Grapefruit and Habanero Skirt Steak with Grilled Tomato Salsa?  Yes, the photo was fabulous, but come on…grapefruit and habaneros??  Really??  And what the title of the recipe doesn’t even tell you is that there is also papaya in there!  I’ve never bought a papaya in my life!  I’m not sure I could pick one out in te produce section.  I will be forever grateful to whatever unseen forces made me clip that recipe.  It was amazing and quite possibly the best steak that has been prepared in this household to date.

The recipe comes from Saveur magazine which might explain everything … that magazine always gets me to try things I’d never think of trying.

Grapefruit and Habanero Skirt Steak with Grilled Tomato Salsa

SERVES 4-6

INGREDIENTS

1 cup roughly chopped papaya
½ cup olive oil
1 Scotch bonnet pepper, stemmed
Juice of 1 large Ruby Red grapefruit
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1½ lb. beef skirt steak, trimmed
8 garlic cloves, peeled
3 jalapeño peppers, stemmed
4 plum tomatoes, cored
1 small white onion, cut in half crosswise
1 cup roughly chopped cilantro leaves and stems
Juice of 1 lime

INSTRUCTIONS

1. Purée papaya and half the oil, plus Scotch bonnet, grapefruit juice, salt, and pepper in a blender into a smooth marinade. Pour ⅔ marinade into a gallon-size resealable plastic bag. Add steak and seal bag; set aside to marinate for 30-45 minutes but no longer. Reserve remaining marinade.

2. Heat a charcoal grill or set a gas grill to high; bank coals or turn burner off on one side. Grill garlic, jalapeños, tomatoes, and onions on hottest part of grill, turning as needed, until charred in spots and tender, 1-2 minutes for garlic, 4-6 minutes for jalapeños, tomatoes, and onions. Allow vegetables to cool slightly. Peel jalapeños and transfer to a blender along with garlic, tomatoes, and onions. Add remaining oil, plus cilantro, lime juice, salt, and pepper. Pulse into a chunky salsa and transfer to a bowl. Cover and refrigerate until ready to use.

3. Remove steak from marinade and grill on hottest part of grill, turning as needed, and, using a brush, baste occasionally with reserved marinade until charred in spots and cooked to desired doneness, 10-12 minutes for medium rare. Let steak rest 10 minutes. Slice steak thinly on the bias; serve with salsa.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LFFL
    Jul 04, 2013 @ 08:19:09

    Looks fabulous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

