Weekly Winner: A Kindler, Gentler Pesto

As I have mentioned before, it’s not that I actively dislike traditional pesto, it’s just that it tends to over power anything it comes in contact with.  While I love basil, garlic, pine nuts, etc… the combination of such in a traditional pesto is just, well, too much sometimes.  And while I dearly love the Arugula Pesto I posted almost a year ago https://donnasquickqi.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/weekly-winner-pesto-perfected/, it was time for a change.

Sicilian PestoEnter Sicilian Pesto.  If it is possible for a pesto to be refreshing, this one is.  I think it is the mint.  The small amount of tomatoes also gives it a nice body without relying heavily on olive oil.  Just all around a great pesto.  I think my husband’s comment said it all “This is way better than it should be”.  Apparently I had higher hopes that he did, but at least it turned out as a unanimous Weekly Winner.

I have no idea where this recipe came from.

Sicilian Pesto

Makes 3 cups

  • 4-5 yellow or red globe or Roma tomatoes, peeled and seeded
  • 1 cup packed fresh mint leaves
  • ½ cup blanched almonds
  • 3 Tbsp shredded pecorino
  • 2 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 clove garlic
  • ¼ tsp red pepper flakes
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Pulse tomatoes, mint, almonds, pecorino, oil, lemon juice, garlic, and pepper flakes in a food processor until smooth; season with salt and pepper.  Toss with pasta of your choice.

Leave a Reply

