Weekly Winner – Tardy, but Terrific!

IMG_0560My apologies.  I have not been keeping up with this.  Life has gotten a bit hectic with travel and work and ….well, life.  Much to my dismay, I just haven’t had the time to kick back and relax in the kitchen.  That is until the end of last week.  Finally, the time came to try out this new mac-n-cheese recipe.

Truth be told, I probably have close to 10 mac-n-cheese recipes.  Every time I see another one I have duelling thoughts in my head.  1)  Do I really need another mac-n-cheese recipe? and 2) Who doesn’t need another mac-n-cheese recipe??  Luckily the second thought was victorious and I ripped out the recipe without hesitation.  It is luscious.  The thing I really like about this dish is the bitterness the Guinness imparts.  It was indeed the perfect comfort food to close out a very tiring, chaotic week.

The recipe comes from Cooking Light Magazine and I admit I “un-lightened” it a bit.  I personally don’t believe in low-fat cheese, nor do I particularly care for turkey sausage.  Therefore I used the real things and the changes are indicated in my version of the recipe below.

Stout Mac-and-Cheese

Serves 4

Ingredients:

7 ounces uncooked rotini pasta

2 teaspoons canola oil

4 ounces hot Italian sausage

3/4 cup diced onion

2 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/8 teaspoon kosher salt

1 cup Guinness Stout beer

1/3 cup whole milk

2.5 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

2 ounces processed cheese, shredded (who are they kidding – they mean Velveeta)

Preparation

Preheat oven to 450°.

Cook pasta according to package directions, drain.

While pasta cooks, heat a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add oil; swirl to coat.

Remove casing from sausage. Add sausage and onion to pan; cook 6 minutes, stirring to crumble sausage.

Add flour, pepper, and salt; cook 1 minute, stirring frequently.

Stir in beer; bring to a boil. Cook 3 minutes or until thick and bubbly, stirring constantly.

Remove from heat. Add milk and cheeses, stirring until smooth. Stir in pasta. Bake at 450° for 10 minutes or until lightly browned.

 

Leave a Reply

