The Hoarder in All of Us

So, what is it that you stash in unnatural quantities?  I’ve always considered myself a very tidy person.  I abhor clutter.  I have never maintained “collections”.  My shelves are not packed with bric a brac.  But yet, my name is Donna, and I am a hoarder.  What is it that I pack away? What am I not able to help adding one more item to?  Food.  There I said it.  I am a food hoarder.

I came to this realization this week when I opened my freezer.  But I’m getting ahead of myself.  As anyone who reads this blog knows.  I adore cooking. Cooking makes me happy.  I find great joy in planning menus, finding new recipes, discovering new ingredients… yada yada yada.  The thing is … there are only two mouths to feed in this house.  (As much as I have tried, The World’s Dorkiest Cat simply refuses any and all “people food”).  Most recipes make four to six servings.  Yes, I realize I can cut the recipe down for two servings but that is not always practical.  It’s hard to add half or one-third of an egg.  Besides, if I only made enough for that night’s dinner, what would I put in my freezer??  I do get great joy in opening the freezer and seeing all my tidy, organized storage containers carefully holding Weekly Winners of weeks passed.

So as I approached this week and realized that Hubby would be traveling for most of it and that I would be busy at work, I opened the freezer and realized that it was not necessary to cook at all this week.  The biggest problem was that I would actually have to decide which of the many treasures in there I’d need to defrost.  It was like I was viewing Weekly Winners On Parade!  That made me very happy.

I’m sure when the weekend comes around and Hubby is back home, I’ll get the itch to whip something up in the kitchen, but I am honestly looking forward to a little reprieve.   I’m prepared and I know I won’t be deprived.

So I ask you?  What is it that you hoard?  Because I think, deep down, there is a little hoarder in all of us.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Phil Steele
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 10:00:37

    And just think, if you end up without power for a week like people in Manhattan recently, you can slowly eat your thawing treasure trove of frozen food. Of course, you might have to heat it over the gas grill the back yard.

    Reply

  2. hopsack
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 12:04:24

    I recently unpacked into my new house and realzed I too am a hoarder – my biggest problem seems to be wine…. Too bad we don’t live closer Donna, these types of things could have worked in our favor!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Weekly Winner – A Last Minute Substitution « Donna's Quick Qi

Leave a Reply

