Weekly Winner: Great, Green Goodness

I adore soups.  I particularly adore creamy soups.  Nothing makes me happier than when the weather gets a bit chilly and I know its time to start rifling through all my wonderful soup recipes.  I also love spinach.  And while I have plenty of soups that include some spinach, and I have loads of “cream of (something)” soups, I noticed I didn’t have a spinach soup recipe where spinach was the main attraction.  Until now.  And a creamy spinach soup?  Now you’re talking!  This was a luscious, flavorful, soul satisfying soup that could definitely be considered healthy and was relatively low in calories.  Bonus!  I believe I got this recipe from a recent issue of Cuisine at Home Magazine but I’m not entirely sure.  I am sure that it is a definite Weekly Winner.  Here it is: Creamy Spinach Soup.

Creamy Spinach Soup

Serves 8

Ingredients:

1 cup diced onion

3 Tbsp. olive oil

2 Tbsp. minced garlic

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

3 cups half-and-half

2 cups chicken broth

12 cups baby spinach, divided (7.5 oz)

1 Tbsp minced lemon zest

½ tsp freshly grated nutmeg

Salt and pepper to taste

Store-bought croutons

Procedure:

Sauté onion in oil in a large pot over medium-high heat until softened, 3-5 minutes.  Add garlic and cook until fragrant, 1 minute.  Stir in flour and cook 2-3 minutes.

Whisk half-and-half and broth into flour mixture.  Bring soup to a simmer over medium-high heat.

Add 8 cups (5 oz) spinach and cook until tender, 5 minutes.  Reduce heat to low.

Puree soup with a handheld blender until smooth.

Stir in remaining 4 cups (2.5 oz) spinach (chopped) zest, lemon juice, and nutmeg; season with salt and pepper.  Serve soup with croutons.

Leave a Reply

