Weekly Winner – Reigning Champ Since 2006

Who doesn’t like a good Chinese chicken salad?  I know I do.  This one’s name may sound like hype, but trust me – it’s true.  This honestly is the Best-Ever Chinese Chicken Salad!

I know I’ve loved this particular recipe and realize that I’ve been making it for quite some time.  I had no idea till I looked at the recipe that I had cut it out way back in 2006.  It is sensational and remains in very high rotation on my menus.  That is quite a feat in itself since I tend to tire of things and purge recipes that start looking a bit rough around the edges.  But I don’t think I’ll ever get rid of this one.  It is one of the few salads that I crave.  The recipe came from Sunset Magazine and I have made a few tweaks here and there which I have noted in the recipe.  My alterations make it a bit quicker and easier to prepare, and therefore a snap to whip up whenever the craving strikes… as it did this week.  Enjoy!

Best-Ever Chinese Chicken Salad

Serves 6-8

For the salad:

1/2 pound asparagus, trimmed and cut diagonally into 1-inch pieces

11 oz can mandarin oranges

6 cups pre-packaged cole slaw mix

2 cups cubed cooked chicken

Spicy soy-ginger dressing (recipe follows)

1 large avocado, cubed

4 green onions (including green tops), sliced diagonally

2 tablespoons toasted sesame seeds

Chow mein noodles

Spicy Soy-Ginger Dressing:

In a medium bowl, whisk together 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 1-1/2  tablespoons soy sauce, 1 tablespoon Asian red chile sauce (such as Sriracha), and 1-1/2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger. Slowly drizzle in 1/4 cup vegetable oil or grapeseed oil, whisking constantly. Season with salt to taste.

Preparation

  1. 1. In a 2- to 3-quart pan over high heat, bring about 1 quart water to a boil. Add asparagus and cook until crisp-tender, 2 to 3 minutes. Drain, then plunge asparagus into ice water to stop the cooking. Drain and set aside.
  2. In a large serving bowl, toss the cabbage, chicken, and asparagus with the dressing. Top with avocado, oranges, and chow mein noodles, then garnish with green onions and sesame seeds.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Weekly Winner:  What’s better than a refreshing cool salad on a summer day? A salad with pork! | Donna's Quick Qi

Leave a Reply

