Shaking Things Up

There comes a time when the only thing left to do is to shake things up a bit.  Which reminds me of my favorite quote: “There comes a time in every woman’s life, when the only thing that helps is a glass of Champagne,” by Bette Davis.  But I digress.  Back to shaking things up.  I think it’s healthy.  It works out the kinks. It lets you see things in a different way.  Yep, things are definitely getting shook up a bit around here and I think that’s good.

I recently began working part-time with a really interesting company here in Chicago.  This place is doing real, down and dirty market research.  Well, actually, they are facilitators for all sorts of companies and industries to do down-and-dirty research.  It’s not at all what I am used to having always been on the rather hoity-toity public relations side of things.  Here we are talking about taste tests, focus panels, research groups, media trial runs, etc.  And you know what?  I dig it.

Now for someone who likes to plan and schedule every aspect of my day, this new additional job means making adjustments.  First of all, the hours.  Crazy unpredictable.  Sometimes I’m in first thing in the morning, other times I don’t head in until late afternoon and work late into the night. For a planner, that takes some getting used to.  But I am, and again..I’m digging it.  It’s totally different.  Viva la difference!

The other thing is every day is different.  Unique.  I never know who the client is going to be and what it’s going to be about until I get there.  Having spent so many years of my life cultivating my own clients and basically knowing what needs to be done day in and day out…this is a breath of fresh air.

And the truly amazing thing I’m finding is that while this is definitely screwing with my routine and adding more to my plate, I’m actually getting more stuff done on a daily basis!  The more I have to do, the more I find I actually do!  Imagine that!  Besides, all this chaos in my life just gives me more lists to make!  I do love me a good list as I’ve mentioned many, many times before.  Lists rule!

I wonder what else I can shake up around here…

Leave a Reply

