Weekly Winner – Fried Rice with Potato Chips. What’s Not to Like?

I’ve been flying solo this week at home which basically means, I can make whatever I want.  And although I still try to be healthy, being by myself has always led to little culinary indulgences.  No one’s around to catch me and The World’s Dorkiest Cat won’t tell on me because he knows there’s a few extra treats in the deal if he keeps quiet.

My greatest junk food weakness has always been potato chips.  I usually refuse to buy them because I simply cannot control myself.  An open bag of chips is evil — it must be killed — and quickly!  But what if it’s a required ingredient in a new, and for the most part, healthy recipe I’m going to try out??  Well then I have to buy it, right?  I knew you’d understand.  And yes, it is true that the recipe only calls for a half cup of chips.  One of those small snack pack bags would have easily handled it.  I just feel you can’t be too safe.  You must be prepared.  That’s all I’m saying.  And the cat isn’t talking.

Without further ado, this week’s Weekly Winner is Turkey Fried Rice with Crushed Potato Chips from Food & Wine Magazine.  It’s definitely a keeper.

And did I mention the potato chips??

Turkey Fried Rice with Crushed Potato Chips

Serves 4

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger

1 tablespoon minced garlic

1 tablespoon minced lemongrass, tender inner white bulb only

4 ounces ground turkey

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

2 cups leftover (cold) cooked rice

1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce

1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil

2 scallions, thinly sliced

1/4 cup chopped mint

1/2 cup plain potato chips, lightly crushed

Asian-style hot sauce, such as Sriracha, for serving (optional)

Directions:

  1. Heat a wok until very hot. Add the vegetable oil, ginger, garlic and lemongrass and stir-fry over high heat until fragrant but not browned, about 1 minute. Add the ground turkey and salt and break up the meat into small clumps. Stir-fry until the turkey is just cooked through, about 3 minutes.
  2. Make a well in the center of the ground turkey. Add the eggs and stir-fry over high heat until just set into large curds, about 2 minutes. Add the rice and stir-fry until heated through and the grains are separated, about 3 minutes. Add the soy sauce and stir-fry until absorbed, about 2 minutes. Stir in the sesame oil and transfer to bowls. Stir in the scallions and mint and garnish with the potato chips. Serve with hot sauce.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessamine in PDX
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 21:07:19

    I’m just about to try this! Hope its as delicious as it sounds! Also, I totally agree about the evilness of an open bag of chips. My husband is forbidden from buying big bags because we’ll just sit and munch, and munch, and munch….

    Reply

  2. PR Donna
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 07:01:28

    I hope you do try it! You will not be disappointed. It’s absolutely wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

