A Gorgeous Day … and a Reality Check

Sometimes I make myself laugh … and not in a  good way!  This afternoon I had to go pick up a few things at the grocery store.  Said store is a very quick half mile from the house.  It is an absolutely beautiful day here today, so I decided I would walk.

As I was getting ready to leave the house, I remembered I also had to go to the bank.  The branch closest to the house is a little over a mile away, and in the same general direction as the grocery. But as soon as I remembered the bank errand, I was all set to grab my car keys and drive.  On this glorious day!

The truly crazy thing about this is that last weekend I walked a half marathon (13.1 miles for those of you who don’t know) and I had a very specific time goal  in mind.  Which, by the way, I beat.  Yay me!

However today, because I had to add an additional mile onto my errand walk, I was all set to jump in the car.  Mind you, I had no time constraints, and no additional place to be at any specific time.  It was simply habit.

I laughed at myself as I headed out on foot for a truly lovely, leisurely walk to both the bank and grocery. Mission accomplished.  It’s amazing how close things seem after walking a half marathon.  Seriously … what was I thinking??

Leave a Reply

