Summer Breezes and back to the little things

This afternoon as I stood in my kitchen with the door open and a warm humid breeze blowing through the house I remembered… yes indeed, it is the little things.

I started this blog for just these moments.  Small fragments of time when you just stop and enjoy.  I’ve been posting more and more about food (yes, there is the Weekly Winner embedded in this post) but while cooking does bring me tremendous joy, perhaps I have lost touch with my other Quick Qis.  So here it is:

Summer Breeze

I realize I’m showing my age with this song.  But as I stood and enjoyed the warm, humid air wafting through the house while I prepared one of my favorite salads, I was truly happy.  I like humidity, I admit it!  I like to feel the air I’m breathing.  Now of course, I can’t get the song out of my head!

As for the salad it is a Toasted Pita Salad.  I found the recipe years ago in Cooking Light magazine and it has always been one of my favorites.

Toasted Pita Salad

Serves 6

Ingredients:

2 (6-inch) pitas, split in half horizontally

3 cups chopped tomato (about 4 medium)

1 1/2 cups chopped English cucumber

1/4 cup finely chopped red onion

1/4 cup chopped fresh oregano

2 tbsp chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

2 tbsp fresh lime juice

1 tsp ground cumin

4 tsp extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1/2 tsp honey

Preparation:

1. Preheat oven to 350°.

2. Place pitas on a baking sheet; bake at 350° for 10 minutes or until crisp. Cool completely; break into small pieces.

3. Combine tomato and next 4 ingredients (through parsley) in a large bowl. Combine lime juice and remaining ingredients in a small bowl, stirring with a whisk. Pour juice mixture over tomato mixture; toss gently. Add pita pieces to bowl; toss gently. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

 

Leave a Reply

