Hope Springs Eternal….Again

Here we are again… it is time. Spring training! Today is the first televised spring training game for my beloved Cubs and I find myself once again ready for my absolute favorite season — Chicago Cubs Baseball. Can you sense my eagerness? Can you feel my prickly anticipation?  Do you detect my unwavering devotion?   Let me state right now without hesitation that I am certain that THIS year is going to be different.  Why, you ask?  Because this is how I feel EVERY year.  I have to.  I am a Cubs fan.

Baseball is a funny sport.  And as much as I totally love the game, I have serious problems with the business-side of it all.   See, I like my guys. No, check that… I adore my guys.  Win, lose or draw, it doesn’t matter.  Of courses I’d prefer they win.  But it’s more about the chemistry and camaraderie of the team. Inevitably, I always form emotional ties with 95% of the Cubs players.  Sure, there are some that don’t seem to fit from day one and are considered the poor relations, but that happens in every family, right?  It’s just that I hate the fact that they are seen as commodities to be traded or sold off.

This stems from the fact that I am a very loyal creature.  When I find something I like, its mine.  I stick with it.  I’ve been married for over 23 years.  I’ve bought the same laundry detergent since college. I am a single brand of mustard and single brand of mayonnaise kind of gal. Therefore, when the Cubs team is created each year I feel that’s it. That’s the team! Those are my boys! Don’t let me get all attached to them….see them at Spring Training…learn their stories and histories…cheer them on and then tell me “that’s it…we’re done with them”.  But I’m not!  These are my guys!

Sigh. And so it begins again. But this time….this year…it will be different.  I just know it!

Go Cubs, Go!

Leave a Reply

