Change in the weather…

Just about two weeks ago I found myself mourning the end of summer.  Admittedly, this has been a very odd summer for me.

First of all, summer took forever to arrive in Chicago this year.  Too many false starts and teasing.  Then when it finally did get here, the blast furnace was turned on … big time!

Secondly, my work has been odd and different this summer.  Not my usual schedule, and we’ve already discussed how I do like to keep a regular schedule. Things just seemed jumbled, disorganized and out of sorts.

Finally… and I shouldn’t even mention this…. summer to me means my beloved Chicago Cubs.  What a disappointing season.  Mind you, I still watched just about every game (and will continue to do so until the very bitter end), but it just wasn’t the same.  There was no pressure… no anticipation.  We knew from a very early stage, that the playoffs were not in the cards this year.

So… suddenly I woke up one morning and it was September.  September?? How is this possible?  It was June just a moment ago!  Now the calendar was telling me it was fall.  I just didn’t think I was ready.  Somehow, I felt cheated.

Then, this morning I awoke to a gloriously cool, clear morning.  It was even chilly!  I immediately knew what needed to be done.  I cracked open my favorite cookbook, “Around My French Table“, by Dorie Greenspan and found the recipe for Paris Mushroom Soup.  Soup!!  Glorious, warm, silky soup.  I put on my favorite light sweater and suddenly… I am all about fall!  Summer?  Who needs it?

Bring on college football!  Bring on fires in the fireplace!  Bring on cozy soups and succulent stews!  Autumn…. I am ready!

Leave a Reply

