With Friends Like These….

They say it’s not what you know, but who you know.  When was the last time you really thought about who your friends are?  I’m not talking big, philosophical picture here like what their character is like or if you can trust them.  No, I’m talking about what it is your friends actually do for a living — how they spend the majority of their lives when they are not hanging out with you, being your friend.

Recently I applied for a public relations project that sounded promising.  Along with the usual application and request for professional references, I was also asked to include a couple of personal references.  It got me thinking.  As I conducted a mental inventory of all of my close friends, (the ones that I know would attempt to shower my name with compliments and not bring up any embarrassing incidences they may have witnessed) I was amazed by the vast breadth of knowledge and work being done by my friends.  There are business owners, vice presidents and authors.  Some are in the medical field.  Some are IT gurus, business managers and even a few in the theater and music industry!  I’m just saying… If you need an ego boost and want to feel a bit better about yourself… don’t look in the mirror.  Look at your friends!  You’ve got to be pretty special if these people want to hang with you!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. hopsack
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 11:40:08

    Beautiful perspective – trusting and admiring your friends and realize you are one of them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

