Being Blown Away

Mary Poppins came to mind today.  We have had tremendous winds here in Chicago, and while I didn’t feel the need to move on to another town as Mary did… it certainly helped blow out some cobwebs and let me see things a bit differently.

It started as I began the day the way I start most Wednesday mornings, at the Green City Market.  As I was crossing the street to begin shopping,  I was blown away (pun very much intended) by the almost overpowering scent of fresh strawberries!  The berries were a very strong reminder of why I love going to the market — to buy what is ridiculously fresh and abundantly in season this week and decide what to do with it later.  That’s exactly what I did and decided on a chicken and strawberry salad for lunch tomorrow.

Then I was off to my miracle-worker hairdresser at Salon Soca to get my hair cut.  Nothing like a scalp massage and a fresh “do” to set you right with the world.  As I was walking home, the wind whipping my newly cut hair, I experienced about four climate changes in my one mile walk — bright sunshine, menacing dark clouds, and what felt like a 15-degree temperature change.  All of this accompanied by these amazing winds.  It really felt like all of the cobwebs had been wiped out of my brain and I was experiencing a clean sweep!

I got home to discover a unique work-related opportunity had popped up (or blown in?).  Not only was I really interested in pursuing this, but I was more excited about it than I’ve been about many similar opportunities.

Finally, I made myself lunch.  Whenever my husband is out-of-town (as he currently is) I see it as a chance to spoil myself and “go all French” with my cooking and experiment a little.  After all, if it’s awful no one will know!  My newest cookbook obsession is Dorie Greenspan‘s “Around My French Table“.   I decided to try the Creamy Mushrooms and Eggs.  It is served over toasted brioche slices.  I took my first bite and was instantly transported to someplace sumptuous, fabulous, and no doubt incredibly French.  To put it simply… I was Blown Away. (I apologize for not having a picture of the dish… I really didn’t anticipate it being such a momentous occasion. I thought I was simply having lunch).

Maybe today was caused by the winds of change.  Whatever it was… it made my day.

Leave a Reply

