Seems Logical To Me

So yesterday I went to the local branch of my bank to deposit a check.  I went inside and was immediately followed by a mother and a boy around 5 years old.  As I began to work my magic at the ATM machine, I overhear the following conversation between mom and child:

Child:  “Mom, what is that woman putting into the machine?”

Mom: “I think she’s making a deposit.”

Child: “What’s a deposit?”

Mom: “It’s when you put money in the machine that then goes to your bank account.”

Child: “Are we going to make a deposit?”

Mom: “No, we are waiting to take money out of the machine.  That’s called a withdrawal.”

Child: “We’re going to take money out of the machine?”

Mom: “Yes.”

Child:  “Why don’t we just trade with that lady?”

Gotta love the logic of kids!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lorna's Voice
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 13:10:44

    Buddhists have a saying: try to see yourself and the world through the child’s eye. Thanks for reminding me of the clarity and innocence we could all have if we didn’t let our adult brains complicate matter so much. Wonderful post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

