Welcome to Donna’s First Quick Qi

Welcome to Donna’s Quick-Qi – Everyday Moments of Joy

According to Sheryl Crow, “If it makes you happy…..It can’t be that bad”.  I am totally on board with that.  I’m learning that I don’t really need to work so hard on being happy. The key is to take pleasure in little, unexpected moments.  I am getting good at noticing them, relishing them, in a sense “collecting them” in my mind.  If I find enough tiny, little things that delight me during my day, I find that when I reflect on my day, it will have been a good one… I will be happy.

And so I present the start of my blog, Donna’s Quick-Qi –Everyday Moments of Joy.  Obviously this is a fun little play on words, Qi, or Chi being the Chinese term best described as “positive life force”.   Here, what I am hoping to do is to share, hopefully on a weekly basis, some of the things in life that truly make time stand still for me. Not forever, sometimes not even for more than a second.  Just a little quick moment of joy … a Quick-Qi, if you will.

I’m certainly not trying to document what gives my life meaning and makes me truly, deeply, happy (being healthy, having a fabulous husband, cooking, eating, traveling and being “Mom” to one of the world’s dorkiest cats) — although I can guarantee that during this blogging adventure said dorky cat, various recipes, places I’ve traveled and certain moments living life with said fabulous husband will all make an appearance in some fashion.  No, what I am talking about here are those instantaneous, unexpected, totally-not-connected-to-my-everyday-real
life kind of moments.  Something I may see, overhear, taste, or otherwise experience that, for that instant, makes time stand still and makes me forget everything else.

What is the purpose of this blog?  I have no idea.  It is just something I’ve been thinking about… ruminating over… and basically feeling is in me and needing to get out. Everyday pleasure in little unexpected moments.  I hope to see them, steal them, and share them with you.

More soon!

Leave a Reply

